Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 20th, 2007

On the eve of glory?….

You may be forgiven for thinking that I refer to the Rugby tonight… but not so. I am referring to the UK Blawgers drinkfest on Monday 22nd October, organised jointly, but in different venues (temporarily) by Geeklawyer and Ruthie’s Law, which, regrettably, I am not able to attend for the reasons given in my last post.

I would like to write a short speech for Geeklawyer to deliver on the night (I did have a bit of help with this speech of course) Interpretation Act point: ‘He’ includes ‘She’ etc etc … otherwise it messes up the ‘poetry’… 🙂

We few, we happy few, we band of bloggers;
For he to-day that shares his drink with me
Shall be my brother; be he ne’er so vile,
This day shall gentle his condition:
And blawgers in England now a-bed, like Charon
Shall think themselves accursed they were not there,
And hold their manhoods cheap whiles any blogs
That drank with us upon UK Blawgers day.

HOWEVER… for those of you who wait for the Rugby World Cup – I can think of no better quote than Henry V:

I see you stand like greyhounds in the slips,
Straining upon the start. The game’s afoot!
Follow your spirit; and upon this charge
Cry ‘God for Harry! England and Saint George!’

Read Full Post »