Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 2nd, 2009

Charon reports on Snow Crisis Britain….

Last night, as Britain braced itself to come to a complete and grinding halt today, I was able to cover the action LIVE on Twitter... these are the tweets as they happened.  I had, it has to be said, ignored the advice of HM Chief Medical Officer, Sir Liam Busybody and was at the juice – a very enjoyable Rioja as it happens.

***

Snow reduces Britain to a complete and utter shambles
The night of Sunday 1st February… as it happened… live on Twitter…
10.30 – 11.15  pm GMT London

***

10.30 pm GMT London

Heavy snow coming down Thames estuary… rather enjoyable. I’m standing outside with a glass of wine, cold but fun to watch. off out again …
*

@gjacqui Buona sera… have been watching snow outside… Britain’s transport will collapse tomorrow? I shall be at my post though! about 10 hours ago from web in reply to gjacqui
*

@Geeklawyer I think you may have delays… the storm is getting worse… and much more predicted overnight 6-8 inches London area? about 10 hours ago from web in reply to Geeklawyer
*

@Geeklawyer Runways closed at gatwick…. 8 snowflakes closed M25… great film from BBC … about 10 hours ago from web in reply to Geeklawyer
*

@Geeklawyer I’ll go and take a look. I’m hallucinating at the moment.. snow blindness….can’t even see my wine glass. “I may be some time” about 10 hours ago from web in reply to Geeklawyer
*

@ManxStef Hi… snow has stopped for the moment… I can’t wait to watch BBC breakfast – it will be chaotic as usual here when it snows. about 10 hours ago from web in reply to ManxStef
*

British Cabinet is convened to discuss global plan to deal with snow… Home Secretary wants snow detained for 90 days until Spring comes about 10 hours ago from web
*

Chancellor of Exchequer says “The Snow is not of our doing… it came from Russia” and is a *global* problem.. we need to act together about 10 hours ago from web
*

Britain put on *SNOW FOOTING*… I am joining *Dad’s Army* immediately… I’ve got my WWII helmet out already… watching for snow. about 10 hours ago from web
*

HM The Queen is ready to tour London in the snow…. to show that even Royals get snow and empathise with us peasants. about 10 hours ago from web
*

@kittieskrafts Under control? You have to be joking… We have 9 flakes of snow… National Crisis. about 10 hours ago from web in reply to kittieskrafts
*

The TV weather people are hyperventilating… they haven’t seen this much white stuff since the Christmas Party. about 10 hours ago from web
*
#SNOWCRISISHITBRITAIN The British Government is ready. Our Prime Minister pledges that he will lead us through to Tuesday thaw. about 10 hours ago from web
*
PM has just telephoned me to ask me to stop my Tweet bulletins. I could bring the economy down, apparently. I told him “I snow, PM,” about 10 hours ago from web
*

Bulletin from No 10 Downing Street: @carnalis looking forward to 8 inches. about 10 hours ago from web
*
I may not be able to hold out much longer.. the snow is making it difficult for me to drink my Rioja and keep my cigarette lit #SnowcrisisUK about 10 hours ago from web
*
Breaking News from Downing Street: “The snow we are currently experiencing, as with the credit-crunch, cd not have been foreseen.” #Snow about 10 hours ago from web
*

Ageing rockstar reports: Snow, snow everywhere and not a drop to snort” #SnowcrisihitUK about 10 hours ago from web
*

@ManxStef This snow is a global problem and we have to have a global solution. We are leading the world with our snow about 9 hours ago from web in reply to ManxStef
*
House of Lords Peer says “There will have to be a lot more snow to whet my interest.” #snowcrisisuk about 9 hours ago from web
*
This link (via @ManxStef) is just PERFECT to sum up UK snow crisis. Not safe for work but funny  about 9 hours ago from web
*

I’ve got to hit the hay… snow blind, frost bitten, snowed under with the effort of living in the new ice age. Global warming.. ? about 9 hours ago from web
*
@dialogicmed CALL OUT THE ARMY? – FANTASTIC.. ours is abroad invading other countries. I’ll be at my post… tomorrow.. Dread nought! about 9 hours ago from web in reply to dialogicmed
*

Monday 2nd February 2009
9.00 am

I am pleased to report, despite the SNOW, that I managed to get to work. Got out of bed, walked five yards to desk, after shower… VOILA! 22 minutes ago from web

And finally… you just have to have a quick look at this remarkable  BBC report / pic... sums it all up, really!

(Hat Tip to @ManxStef for the link to that great story/pic)

I’m orf for a coffee… a bit snowed under with it all….


Read Full Post »

Daily legal news and podcast up on Insite Law

1. I have replaced the Pageflakes pages for News, blogs, law reports as Pageflakes appears to have disappeared. I shall replace the US, Canada, Australia and other jurisdiction Pageflake pages with Netvibe page shortly.
Have a look at the new Netvibe RSS feed pages – a lot of news, blog,s law reports (top five posts) at a glance.

2. If you would like to receive my weekly Insite Law newswire by email (summarising events of the week just gone) please sign up here | Have a look at the first issue?

Read Full Post »