Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 3rd, 2009

All go in the real and unreal world….

Now that Britain is returning, slowly, to some semblance of normality after the marvellous snow storm yesterday two news items caught my attention:

Guido Fawkes reports on his blog: Met Police Have Received MP’s Complaint Re Gordon Brown’s Leaks from 1985

“Commissioner Sir Paul Stephenson has, Guido understands, had in his in-tray since early December a letter of complaint over this. Legally there is no “statute of limitations” for the offence of “Procuring Misconduct in Public Office”, so Brown could theoretically still be prosecuted. Perhaps the Met have been preparing for nine weeks to raid his offices, more likely they are in a bit of a quandary about what to do until Damian Green is dealt with.” Guido reproduces television footage from the time.

A tricky ‘political’ issue for Brown et al to deal with and a bit of a thorn in the flesh for the new Metropolitan Police Commissioner.  Perhaps it might be best just to sweep both the Damien Green and Gordon Brown ‘procurement’ issues under the carpet?  Are we going to see another  bit of soft ‘British fudge”?  Is it a ‘storm in a tea cup”?  Or do we just have some laws that are more important than others?  Perhaps they could both be given an £80 fixed penalty ticket – or… what about an ASBO? Perhaps there won’t be enough evidence?

***

Then we have the curious matter of former President Bush being ‘indicted for War Crimes’? – water boarding, torture, detention without trial et al. This is considered by The Huffington Post.

I like to imagine that George Bush, after having this read to him, called President Obama

Bush: Hey Barack… how goes it?.. found all those laws that I rushed through just before I left?

Obama: Good morning, George.  Yes… got them all. Kept me busy. What can I do for you?

Bush: You see that piece in Huffington? They want to get me, try me as a war criminal.

Obama: Yes.  I saw it.

Bush: I may need you to pardonify me.

Obama: George, your enemies are innovative and resourceful, and so am I. They never stop thinking about new ways to harm you and neither do I.”

Bush: Yeah?  I heard that said before. My answer is bring them on.

Obama: Yeah?  So why do you want a pardon?

Bush: I wish you’d have given me this  question ahead of time so I could plan for it…I’m sure something will pop into my head here in the midst of this telephone conversation, with all the pressure of trying to come up with answer, but it hasn’t yet….maybe I should call you tomorrow.  I’m a bit confusified at the moment with nothing to do.

Obama: Ok.. George… any time… I promise you I will listen to what you say here, even though I won’t be here when you call.

Read Full Post »

Geeklawyer is going to Canada… Mon dieu!

Geeklawyer is going to Canada. May god have mercy on their souls.

***

Watch the movie

***

Geeklawyer’s  blog post about why he missed his plane yesterday

Read Full Post »

Daily Legal news and podcast up on Insite Law

***

Future Use of Counsel’s Opinion by Solicitors in Other Cases
30 January 2009

The Bar Council has been informed of the following situation. A barrister has received instructions from a firm of solicitors which state at the end of the instructions that it is the solicitors’ intention to store the opinion received from Counsel electronically, and to make future use of it in other cases as they see fit. This is an issue which has been considered by the Bar Standards Board in consultation with the Law Society, and the link to the appropriate guidance is available on this website.

***

If you would like to receive my weekly Insite Law newswire by email (summarising events of the week just gone) please sign up here | Have a look at the first issue?

Read Full Post »