Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 18th, 2012

Without Prejudice returns as a panel discussion in two weeks time.  In the meantime – a one on one ‘Special’ with Carl Gardner.  I will be talking to David Allen Green in another ‘Special’ tomorrow.

Listen to the podcast

[If the recording ‘sticks’ in first 3-4 seconds – please reload if you are using Firefox.  Firefox doing weird things to podcasts at the moment. Depending on the memory used by Firefox with open tabs it may take time to load – a recent phenomenon with yet another Firefox ‘upgrade’. .  Works fine in Chrome though. ]

***

I’d like to thank Lawtel, WestlawCassons For Counsel, City University Law School David Phillips & Partners Solicitors, Inksters SolicitorsIken, LBC Wise Counsel, Carrs Solicitors,  JMW Solicitors – Manchester, Pannone and Cellmark for sponsoring the podcast  – and the free student materials on Insite Law – appreciated.

In association with The Lawyer

Read Full Post »

Today I received an unsolicited text from a claims company suggesting that I may have a claim worth £3500 for an injury.  As it happens, I haven’t had an injury.

I was bored. I am under doctor’s orders not to work until mid next week when I come off the heavy meds. The devil makes work for idle hands…and I just could not resist calling the number given in the text back.

RING RING….RING RING….

Cold caller in call centre ‘somewhere in India?”:  Hello.

Charon: Have you got my £3500 for the injury you said I could claim for?

Cold caller in call centre ‘somewhere in India?”: Please… your name?

Charon: Charon QC, law blogger of London, England, United Kingdom…. lobber of bog rolls onto a metaphorical legal pitch.

Cold caller in call centre “somewhere in India?”: Bog roll?  What is bog roll, please?

Charon:  A bog roll is a colloquial term for lavatory paper.

Cold caller in call centre ‘somewhere in India?”  You were injured by this bog roll?

Charon:  No.

Cold caller in call centre ‘somewhere in India?”:  So how were you injured?

Charon:  You tell me.  You told me I could claim £3500 for my injury. I’m looking forward to spending it on licentious living.

Cold caller in call centre ‘somewhere in India?”:  Please, what is licence living?  You need licence to live in Britain?

Charon:  Oh yes. We need licences for everything in Britain. I already have my licence to receive £3500 from you.  I am a lawyer… so I am always licenced to receive money when is it is being chucked about by claims companies.

Cold caller in call centre ‘somewhere in India?”: How is your leg?

Charon:  A bit wooden. I have a wooden leg. But I’ll buy a new springy metal one  when I get the £3500 which you seem keen to send me for an injury I haven’t had.

Cold caller in call centre ‘somewhere in India?”: Do you have other injuries?

Charon: Many injuries over the years…..in fact, only this very morning I laughed when I saw your text and my head fell orf.  Res ipsa loquitur

Cold caller in call centre ‘somewhere in India?”: Please… your head fell off? Where is this head?

Charon:  It is in a rather charming 18th Century tea caddy I bought at a Flog It auction on my desk.

Cold caller in call centre ‘somewhere in India?”Click…..

Mea culpa…. I just cannot resist irritating cold callers who irritate me by wasting my time. I get a fair few cold callers…as many do.

Some time ago I wrote about another encounter with a cold caller.  If you haven’t read it… it may raise a wry smile…. or you will come to the conclusion that I am insane.  Either way – a win win for me!

Read?

Read Full Post »